Archives

1067

Zhores Ivanovich Alferov has a conversation with Sergey Petrovich Kapitsa. Show archives

888

Zhores Ivanovich Alferov has a conversation with Sergey Petrovich Kapitsa. Show archives

849

Sergey Kapitsa’s birthday

965

The brain activity is deciphered on the cellular and molecular level thanks to modern scientific advances. Will that knowledge allow us to understand what thinking is? Will we learn how to treat brain disorders in the 21st century?

944

It is a known fact that half of all lakes on Earth are salt lakes. What do we know about salt lakes? Who lives in them and how? What else is there in their waters other than salt? Why do scientists believe them to be natural evolutionary laboratories? How are they good for humans and what dangers do they hide?

724

Is stress good or bad? Do ordinary people and scientists have the same meaning? Have humans always experienced stress or is it something that the civilization brought us? Can you learn to manage your stress?

45

Latest discoveries make us take a fresh look at one of the most enigmatic elementary particles – neutrino. What is neutrino, what are the basic properties of this particle? Why is it important today to study the neutrino physics?

43

The year 2012 has been announced the Year of the Russian History. What does it mean and what impact will it have on development of historical studies? What is truth in history? What are the objectivity criteria?

41

Does the current organizational structure of the Russian science meet the challenges of our time? What makes it different from the organizational system of science in place in the countries considered to be scientifically leading? What sets it back and what works effectively?

54

What is the place of science in the modern world and culture? How does it advance and meet challenges of the 21st century? How do the scientists and the society carry on a dialog with each other?

38

Today, breakthroughs in science tend to occur at the intersection of different disciplines. Chemists, physicists, and biologists have come a long way in polymer research. What works are carried out at the laboratories and how are the results of such works used in real life?

42

More than 30 years ago, the Institute of Applied Physics of the Russian Academy of Sciences laid the foundation of the Nizhny Novgorod academic science. Today, it is one of the leaders in the RAS system. How can we, with truly frontier science, build a system that can foster innovation in present-day conditions?

36

Today, there is a lot of talk about scientific megaprojects – very large investment projects. What are they needed for? Is it any use talking about large-scale projects when science funding is in question?

40

A conversation with Yevgeny Yevgenievich Achkasov, a surgeon and a scientist, a winner of the President of the Russian Federation Award in Science and Innovations for Young Researchers. How can we reform the present-day medicine? What should a doctor of the 21st century be like?

47

Paleogenetics changed today’s anthropogenesis theories and the study of our genomes and genomes of our ancestors allowed us to answer some of the questions regarding the human evolution. What makes the brain of Homo Sapiens different from the brain of Homo Neanderthalensis and Homo Denisovensis?

54

It is a known fact that energy shapes the time and economy. What energy sources does the mankind use? Are the fears that we are facing an energy crisis justified?

50

There has been an avalanche-like invasion of the methods of physics into different areas of medicine for the last few decades. This is ultimately about laser and information technologies. What diseases can be diagnosed and treated with laser?

38

According to archaeologists, the history of such a unique monument of the Ancient Egypt, as the Royal Mummies Crypt, is reminiscent of a detective story. The crypt was discovered in the late 19th century but it was not until recently that archaeologists could get inside. What is the mystery of this crypt?

34

Today, many believe that biotechnologies will shape the 21st century. The scientists promise that by 2012 reading the genome will be as easy as taking a blood test today. If Russia falls behind in the genetic race, it will face more severe consequences than the defeat in the nuclear or space spheres.

42

We see how fast the modern world changes and all fundamental concepts transform. Politics is the key. What is politics today and what language does it use? Who defines and carries out politics? What is the power instinct? Politics is science, art or technologies?

40

Throughout the history, people have been looking for ways to stop ageing, prolong life, reclaim youth, beauty and strength. However, ageing is a natural process established by the nature itself. When does it step in? Can we slow down ageing?

62

Does mathematics develop on its own or does it live off ideas coming from physics? What is more important – solve a problem or set one? Who should find a problem – the teacher or the student? These are the questions the most famous contemporary mathematician Vladimir Arnold will answer.

Partners

Social networking

Журнал
«В мире науки»

Новый выпуск — №8-9 2021

Lectures

239

What saints did the conquistadors pray to and why did they decide to conquer Mexico? What was the ethnic, regional, and age composition of the Conquista? 

Show all
В вашем браузере отключен JavaScript. Будет показана упрощенная версия сайта, в которой могут отсутствовать многие функции.

Архив «Очевидное—невероятное»

28559

Жорес Иванович Алферов беседует с Сергеем Петровичем Капицей. Из архива программы

26378

Жорес Иванович Алферов беседует с Сергеем Петровичем Капицей. Из архива программы

37093

День рождения Сергея Капицы

77189

Благодаря достижениям современной науки работа мозга расшифровывается уже на клеточном и молекулярном уровне.  Позволят ли эти знания понять, что такое мышление? Научатся ли в 21 веке лечить болезни мозга?

55587

Известно, что половина всех озер  на Земле – соленые. Что мы знаем о соленых озерах? Кто и как в них живет? Что в их воде содержится помимо соли? Почему ученые считают их естественными эволюционными лабораториями?  Чем они полезны для человека и какую таят опасность?

66970

Стресс – это хорошо или плохо? Одинаковый ли смысл вкладывают в это понятие обычные люди и ученые? Всегда ли человек испытывал стресс, или это – «достижение» цивилизации? Можно ли научиться управлять стрессом?

29692

Открытия последнего времени заставляют по-новому взглянуть на одну из самых загадочных элементарных частиц – нейтрино. Что такое нейтрино, каковы основные свойства этой частицы? Почему сегодня так важно изучать нейтринную физику? 

30099

2012 год объявлен Годом российской истории. Что это означает и как может отразиться на развитии исторической науки? Что является истиной в истории? Каковы критерии объективности?

18886

Соответствует ли современная организационная структура российской науки вызовам времени? Чем она отличается от системы организации науки лидирующих в научном отношении стран?  Что тормозит ее развитие, а что работает эффективно?

9259

Какое место занимает наука в современном мире и в современной культуре? Как она развивается и отвечает на вызовы 21 века? Как происходит диалог между учеными и обществом?

10456

Сегодня прорывы в науке совершаются, как правило, на стыках разных дисциплин. Химики, физики и биологи достигли больших успехов в исследовании полимеров. Какие работы ведутся в лабораториях, и как практически используются результаты этих работ?

10438

Институт прикладной физики РАН более 30 лет назад положил начало нижегородской академической науке. Сегодня он – один из лидеров в системе РАН. Как в современных условиях при действительно передовой науке можно создать систему, которая могла бы способствовать развитию инноваций?

8723

Сегодня много говорят о мегапроектах в области науки – инвестиционных проектах особо крупных размеров. Для чего они нужны? Насколько актуально сегодня говорить о масштабных проектах, когда есть вопросы по поводу финансирования науки?

8360

Беседа с хирургом и ученым Евгением Евгеньевичем Ачкасовым, лауреатом премии Президента РФ в области науки и инноваций для молодых учёных. Как реформировать сегодняшнюю медицину? Каким должен быть врач 21-го века?

12193

Палеогенетика изменила сегодняшние теории происхождения человека, а изучение геномов нас самих и наших предков позволило ответить на некоторые вопросы, касающиеся его эволюции. Чем отличается мозг современного человека от мозга неандертальца и человека из Денисовой пещеры?

8800

Известно, что «лицо» времени, экономики определяет энергетика. Какими источниками энергии сегодня пользуется человечество? Справедливы ли опасения, что нам грозит  энергетический кризис?

8475

Последние несколько десятков лет происходит мощное вторжение методов физики в различные области медицины. Прежде всего, речь идет о лазерно-информационных технологиях. Какие болезни можно диагностировать и лечить с помощью лазера?

10125

История  уникального памятника Древнего Египта «Тайник царских мумий», по мнению археологов, напоминает детектив. Тайник был открыт в конце 19 века, но проникнуть в него удалось лишь совсем недавно. В чем загадка этого тайника?

10369

Сегодня многие считают, что биотехнологии будут определять лицо 21 века. Ученые обещают, что к 2012 году читать геном будет так же легко, как сегодня сдать анализ крови. Если Россия отстанет в генетической гонке, последствия будут тяжелее, чем в случае проигрыша в атомной или космической области.

8812

Мы видим, как быстро меняется современный мир и как быстро трансформируются все основные понятия. Главное среди них – политика. Что такое политика сегодня и каков ее язык? Кто ее определяет и осуществляет? Что такое инстинкт власти? Политика – это наука, искусство или технологии?

9774

На протяжении всей своей истории люди стремились найти средства, способные приостановить процесс старения, продлить жизнь, вернуть молодость, красоту и силы. Однако старение – это естественный процесс, заложенный самой природой.  Когда он запускается? Можно ли замедлить старение? 

9728

Развивается ли математика самостоятельно, или питается идеями, пришедшими из физики? Что важнее – решить задачу или поставить ее? Кто должен находить задачу – учитель или ученик? На эти вопросы отвечает самый знаменитый математик современности – Владимир Арнольд. 

Партнеры

Мы в соцсетях

Журнал
«В мире науки»

Новый выпуск — №8-9 2021

Фото дня

Перовскитные батарейки запитают системы «умного дома» и носимую электронику от комнатного освещения
Смотреть все

Лекции

12558

О загадках птичьих миграций – явлении, известном людям с глубокой древности, но так и не понятом до конца, рассказывает Вадим Гаврилов – орнитолог, кандидат биологических наук, старший научный сотрудник биологического факультета МГУ им. Ломоносова.

Смотреть все
В вашем браузере отключен JavaScript. Будет показана упрощенная версия сайта, в которой могут отсутствовать многие функции.